Education Committee: Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Work Sessions (beginning at 1:00 p.m.)

L.D. 853: An Act To Encourage Maine Residents To Attend Medical School and Practice in Maine

L.D. 963: Resolve, Directing the University of Maine System To Self-transition Its Educational Broadband Service from Analog to Digital

2:30 p.m. –

DOE “Part GGG” authorization to extend the Maine Learning Technology Initiative (laptop program)

4:30 p.m. –

LD 1049: An Act To Encourage Cooperation among School Administrative Units, Rep. Sutherland; Co-sponsors: Reps. Dill, Duchesne, Johnson, O'Brien, Percy, Pieh, Trinward; Senator Weston

... provides for the formation of 20 regional education cooperatives. School administrative units established as of July 1, 2009 may join a regional education cooperative of their choice, and each participating school administrative unit has a single representative to the cooperative board. Participation in regional education cooperatives is voluntary and the participation of participating school administrative units in any of the specified educational functions or support services carried out by the regional education cooperative is voluntary.
...Participating school administrative units voluntarily choose which educational functions or support services they purchase from the regional education cooperative and contribute only for the costs of those educational functions or support services that they use. Savings achieved through the regional education cooperative accrue to the participating school administrative units, with a portion reserved for administrative costs of the regional education cooperative.