MSMA: Six new regional districts formed before July 1 deadline

Maine School Management Association
June 17, 2010

Six new regional districts formed before July 1 deadline

Six new regional school districts have been approved by voters in the last seven weeks, meeting the July 1 deadline to avoid a penalty next school year for not conforming to the consolidation law.

All the new districts formed were Alternative Organizational Structures (AOSs). The new AOSs include:

  • SAD 19, Union 104 and Union 106, that voted 835-to-384 on June 15 to form an AOS that will include Alexander, Baring Plantation, Calais, Charlotte, Crawford, Dennysville, Eastport, Lubec, Pembroke, Perry and Robbinston and serve around 1,200 students.
  • SAD 30 (Lee), East Range CSD, the Union 107 communities of Baileyville, Cooper, Grand Lake Stream Plantation, Meddybemps, Princeton, and the Union 110 communities of Lakeville, Carroll, Drew, Macwahoc and Reed. The vote on June 8 was 819-to-378. Talmadge and Waite, which also were proposed as part of the AOS, voted against the plan. The new AOS will serve around 900 students.
  • SAD 20 (Fort Fairfield), SAD 42 (Mars Hill) and Bridgewater that voted 373-to-38 on June 1 to form an AOS to serve just under 1,000 students.
  • Boothbay-Boothbay Harbor CSD and the towns of Edgecomb and Southport, formerly Union 49, that voted 196-to-9 on May 27 to form an AOS serving about 835 students.
  • Fayette and Winthrop that voted 668-to-18 on May 4 to form an AOS serving about 1,000 students.
  • East Machias, Jonesboro, Machias, Marshfield, Northfield, Roque Bluffs, Wesley, Whitneyville, Cutler, Machiasport and Whiting that voted 709-to-43 on April 29. The new district encompasses the old School Unions 102 and 134 and East Machias and will serve just under 1,000 students.

A seventh AOS proposed for MSAD 31 (Howland) and Greenbush failed on June 15 when Greenbush voted against it, 62-to-37.

More school districts are coming together as a result of amendments to the consolidation law passed by the Legislature and signed into law by Gov. John Baldacci on April 1. The changes put more flexibility into the statute and remove the minimum size requirement, if districts can show they worked to comply with the original law.

With the last six additions, the state now has 33 reconfigured schools districts as a result of consolidation.

Contact: Dale Douglass, executive director
Victoria Wallack, communications director
Telephone: 207-622-3473 or 1-800-660-8484