Testimony on LD 1503: An Act to Promote School Attendance and Increase School Achievement

To: Senator Brian Langley, Chair

Representative David Richardson, Chair

Members of the Education Committee

Re: LD 1503, An Act to Promote School Attendance and Increase School Achievement

My experiences relevant to this bill include the following:

I am serving my ninth year as a school board member in the Mount Desert Island school system.

I am a member of our Legislative Subcommittee.

I have served as chair of our high school board for two years.

I have both chaired and participated in expulsion hearings.

While I no longer practice law, I am a lawyer and have previously served as an Assistant District Attorney in Hancock County. My duties there included work in Juvenile Court.

This bill focuses on the problems attendant to the expulsion of students, chronic truancy, and graduation rates. I offer a position neither for nor against its enactment. While the bill’s overall approach to these concerns is positive, I have practical concerns about several details.

1. A properly run expulsion hearing contains discernable measures of attention to the facts, compassion for the student involved, and concern for the consequences of both the student’s behavior and board’s action on the student and the school community. While adherence to standards of due process and fair play is vital to the success of the proceeding, an overlay of formalistic trial procedures is not.
    1. Lay board chairs are less likely to be comfortable running a proceeding more like a court trial than a school board hearing. Consequently school counsel is more likely to be called in to conduct hearings. Costs would rise dramatically. For us that’s a total of six hours of driving for counsel even before s/he begins the hearing.